Gramsci, Freire and Adult Education

It is funny how life always makes a full circle again and how everything we do in our lives somehow interlinks, even though initially we thought it wouldn’t.

Okay, I’m speaking in riddles now, but after an elimination and decision process I had settled for two modules to be done this semester: Visual arts and creativity (MEA803) and Perspectives on Adult Learning (MID823). I thought the two of them would not be directly related to each other and after going to the library today to find some books for both topics, I found a book on Paulo Freire (recommended by the visual arts lecturer). I didn’t know much about Paulo Freire, a Brazilian philosopher and educator, and couldn’t get a copy of his famous book “Pedagogy of the Oppressed”. But I found a book “Gramsci, Freire and Adult Education – Possibilities for Transformative Action” by Peter Mayo. Was reading a bit in the library café and it’s very interesting and apparently Freire (who was influenced by Gramsci and Vygotsky) is one of the main influencers of modern day adult learning.

 

When I came home and read my email that there is new material available on the blackboard for my next week’s adult learning class, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the lecturer is touching on the topic of Transformative Learning, looking at Paulo Freire! (and a more modern day educator Mezirow, who was influenced by Freire).

 

Leave a Reply

