Only in China

 bamboopagodaoperananpu

Watched the show with this title last night on CNA. 

They interviewed an Austrian woman who started her own dancing school in China. Well actually can’t really say she was Austrian. She had this amazing traveling life since she was 2 years old. She has lived in so many countries and finally ended up in Beijing, China 6 years ago working in advertising for a large MNC. But she mentioned that even though she has never lived in the same country for longer than 9 years so far, she sees herself getting old in China, because it’s such an amazing country with so much culture to be explored.  

There were a few things that particularly struck me in this very casual interview. In the first place, the interview was held completely in Mandarin and I admired her level of Mandarin. At the same time I was happy to realize that I could follow and understand about 80% of the conversation without need to look to the subtitles too much. And shamefully found that my Mandarin has been stagnant for too long and might even have lost some of it due to lack of practice the past few years.  

Secondly, I was struck by the courage of the woman who gave up her steady job at a MNC to set up her own dancing school (one of her hobbies) in a country like China. Not an easy thing to do! I admire people who follow their dreams and also try to follow my dreams. Which made me reflect again whether I’m actually doing this at the moment. The honest answer to myself was yes and no. Yes, I’m following my dream – working for myself, studying something that I’m interested in. But No at the same time too – I’m still not seriously trying to find a job as a parttime lecturer at one of the poly’s, and I also still have a dream that I want to settle in
China ultimately. The latter has been put on a longer term planning though – I’m quite happy with my life as it is now in
Singapore and grown tired to keep moving around. Another factor is my two cats that make me slightly less mobile – not immobile, but I don’t want to move here then there and back again anymore. So, the cats are just an excuse, but it probably defines a new phase in my life in another way.
 

Leave a Reply

